Tuesday, June 10, 2014

First place scrapbook competition

High Island Student Council won first in a scrapbook competition back in the day. I don't know about you all, but I don't know of any schools that have scrapbooking. Yearbooks I have heard of, but not scrapbooking. So I thought this was interesting. And of course, dad sponsoring all the way.

Hi. Student Council Wins First
The High Island High School Student Council won first place honors in the scrapbook competition at the Texas Association of Student Councils State Convention which was held at Fort Worth, Tx. April 26-29. The High Island Council also served on the State Resolution Committee and hosted a problem clinic conducted by sponsor, Wayne Edgar.

These were but a few of the accomplishments of the High Island Student Council for the 1977-78 school year. They were also elected to server as parliamentarian for District 17 and serve as co-host with Port Neches-Groves in conducting a New Officers and Sponsors workshop during the next school year. 

The 1977-78 officers who were instrumental in accomplishing the above honors are: President, Frank Barrow; Vice-President, Danny McVay; Secretary, Macky Walters; Treasurer, Deanna Robinson; and Parliamentarian, Johnny Nuber.

The 1978-79 officers who will take office May 2 are: President, Johnny Nuber; Vice-President, Deanna Robinson; Secretary, Wendi Fitch; Treasurer, Elsie Harris; and Parliamentarian, to be elected.

No comments:

Post a Comment